DUI Repeat Offenders

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Connecticut DUI Repeat Offender Defense Attorney

Fairfield CT Multiple Drunk Driving Arrests Lawyer

Stamford DUI Repeat Offenders Attorney

In the state of Connecticut, if you are convicted for drunk driving within 10 years of your first DUI conviction, jail time, fines, and the length of your license suspension all increase. Depending on the specifics of your case, the court may order you (at your own personal cost) to install an ignition interlock device for a 24 month period after your license has been reinstated.

Additionally, you face an increase in your insurance premiums, a criminal record, and a life complicated by license suspension. At the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner, we work with repeat DUI offenders in order to try and minimize the consequences of a second or third DUI arrest.

If you've been arrested for drunk driving within 10 years of your last DUI conviction, contact Connecticut criminal defense lawyer Daniel P. Weiner today to schedule a free consultation and learn how we can help you.

Repeat DUI Offenses and Connecticut State Penalties

In general, the following kinds of penalties apply to repeat DUI offenders in the state of Connecticut:

  • Second DUI conviction within 10 years of first: a fine between $1,000 and $4,000; a jail sentence of at least 120 days but no more than 2 years; at least 100 hours of community service; and, a suspended license for 3 years.
  • Third DUI conviction within 10 years of first: a fine between $2,000 and $8,000; at least 1 to 3 years in jail; 100 hours of community service; and, the permanent loss of your driver's license.

I have Multiple DUIs - How will I get to Work?

After your license has been suspended for one year, you may apply to the DMV for participation in their DUI hardship license program. If selected for participation, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on your car at your own expense. The IID functions like a breathalyzer and requires you to blow into it before staring your car and while driving. If the IID registers a blood alcohol count (BAC) over .025, your car won't start or it will shut off.

You are required to have the IID checked every 60 days to ensure it is calibrated and functioning properly. As your attorney, Mr. Weiner can help you prepare all necessary paperwork and comply with any additional requirements imposed by the court.

Contact DUI Defense Attorney Daniel P. Weiner Today

Repeat DUI offenders face a number of potential legal complications that must be addressed a timely manner. If you've been arrested again for DUI, contact Connecticut DUI Lawyer Daniel P. Weiner today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.