Blog

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Fairfield County defense attorney

CT defense lawyerBeing charged with driving under the influence (DUI) is always a serious matter, with no exceptions. One is bad enough, but if you have been stopped a second time, it can have serious implications for your long-term future. Hiring a Connecticut attorney well versed in DUI law is critical, as trying to go through the process alone can be a difficult and frightening experience.

Connecticut Is Strict on DUIs

It is generally the public policy of the state of Connecticut to charge DUI crimes because of the potential danger they pose to the community. A first-time DUI in Connecticut still carries fairly strict penalties, especially if you refuse a chemical test or Breathalyzer (under Connecticut law, anyone who drives on the state’s roads has given their implied consent to administering such a test, and refusal to take it is met with punishment). While the jail time for a first DUI is minimal, the fine can be substantial, and if you refuse the breath test, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least six months, but for as much as one year if there are aggravating factors.

In Connecticut, a DUI is only counted as a second offense if it occurs within 10 years of the first, but if this happens to you, the fines will be higher, more jail time will be required, and the date and requirements for your license to be reinstated are much stricter. While there may be some occasions in which someone is granted a conditional permit if they need to drive to work or school, judges otherwise do not generally relax these requirements, just because drunk driving is so potentially dangerous.

...

Posted on in Sex Crimes

CT defense lawyerEspecially in this day and age, with the MeToo movement in full swing and victims of sex crimes feeling more and more able to speak against their abusers, it is critical to separate the guilty from the truly innocent when dealing with such serious crimes. An accusation of a sex crime can ruin someone’s career or reputation, and if you are innocent of such a charge, it is critical to immediately consult an attorney so that you can have the best defense possible. A Stamford sex crimes attorney knows the law and will work hard for you.

Connecticut Law Is Narrowly Defined

Connecticut public policy, in general, is aimed at protecting the family and protecting children in particular. As a result, even relatively minor sex-related crimes may require registering as a sex offender, serving significant jail terms, or both. Sex crimes in Connecticut include not only rape and sexual assault but also lesser crimes that do not necessarily involve physical contact, such as enticing a minor, which is knowingly “persuading or enticing” someone under the age of 16 to engage in any kind of sexual act and is usually done via a computer.

Almost every sex-related crime is a felony, with the exception of acts like prostitution, which is a misdemeanor (and if one is under 18, they may be able to assert the defense of being forced or threatened into the act). Most are Class A and B felonies, which can carry between 20 and 50 years in prison, plus fines in the tens of thousands of dollars, though the specific facts of any given case will be taken into account if it goes to trial. Many defendants choose to plea-bargain if they are charged with sex crimes, but this is not always the best option. Having an attorney with you can help ensure that you receive a fair offer.

...

CT defense lawyerAssault can be any incident where physical harm is done to another person. However, there are varying degrees of assault, and if you are charged with the crime, you may be able to plead to a lesser charge or avoid sentencing if you understand its ramifications fully. Having a Stamford assault lawyer helping you can make a big difference.

Different Degrees

Connecticut law divides assault charges into differing degrees, where variables will affect which one you are charged with. Third-degree assault, for example, is a Class A misdemeanor (with or without a weapon). It is punishable by up to a year in prison plus severe fines (usually around $2,000), plus costs. An assault case is more likely to be charged in the third degree if the person had intent to injure or acted recklessly (as opposed to intent to kill or use a weapon to cause permanent injury). The victim (or a third person) must be injured, but not necessarily severely.

Compare this to assault in the first degree. Someone will be charged with first-degree assault if they “intended to harm the person” and their victim was seriously injured or in certain other cases such as using a weapon to cause permanent injury. The sentence will be between 5 and 20 years in prison, as well as fines that can range up to $15,000, depending on the severity of the injuries caused. Generally, each degree of assault has its particular criteria, with only the intent and the actual injury (or lack thereof) being relatively uniform across the board.

...

CT defense lawyerTraffic violations - like driving under the influence (DUI), speeding, and reckless driving - have consequences, including the possibility of temporarily losing your driver’s license. Reasons that the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) might suspend your driver’s license include:

  • Accumulating more than 10 points during a two-year period. For example, driving while impaired is worth three points, passing a stopped school bus is worth four points, and not obeying a stop sign is worth two points.
  • Driving while drunk or refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test.
  • Failing to appear in court after receiving a traffic summons for violating a traffic law.
  • Committing vehicular manslaughter, homicide or another serious crime.

These are only some of the reasons you might lose your driving privileges. (There are also additional reasons for suspending a teen driver’s license.) Do not delay in reaching out to an experienced attorney after receiving a traffic citation. We can help fight to keep your driving privileges intact.

Suspension Notice

...

Posted on in Juvenile Crimes

CT defense lawyerAdults can be charged with driving under the influence when their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher. But underage drivers (any driver under 21 years old) can be charged when their BAC is .02 percent. Connecticut has zero tolerance for underage drinking and driving, which means that any alcohol in your system or on your breath is grounds for arrest. That does not leave underage drivers with any wiggle room. The moral of the story for underage drivers is, do not get behind the wheel after having any alcohol.

The Consequences of Underage Drinking and Driving

Driving under the influence is a criminal offense in Connecticut, whether you are an adult or underage. Underage first offenders are subject to the following consequences:

...

CT defense attorneyThe criminal justice system treats youth offenders differently than it treats adult offenders. The general rule in Connecticut is that children under 16 years old cannot be held criminally responsible for their actions. However, there are certain exceptions to that rule.

Either way, it can be frightening and confusing if your child is arrested. Our experienced juvenile defense attorneys can explain your legal options and answer any and all questions about the criminal justice process. In fact, here are answers to a few questions that parents frequently ask when their children get in trouble with the law:

Q: When can juveniles be tried as adults in Connecticut?

...

Connecticut defense lawyerConnecticut imposes strict penalties for domestic violence. As such, if you have been charged with domestic violence in the state, you owe it to yourself to become knowledgeable as to the consequences of a conviction. Jail time, fines, and damage to your personal reputation are among the adverse outcomes. With so much on the line, experienced legal representation in matters of criminal defense is essential.

Domestic Violence Is Termed “Family Violence” in Connecticut

In Connecticut, domestic violence is categorized as “family violence.” Under state law, family violence is an event that occurs between family or household members that either causes physical injury or produces fear the physical injury is imminent. Family or household members include:

...