Controlled Substance Drug Charges in Connecticut
In May, the Connecticut Legislature made some minor changes to the laws criminalizing the manufacture and sale of controlled substances. These changes will officially go into effect on October 1, 2017. Despite the clarifications made by Connecticut lawmakers, navigating the state’s drug-related statutes can be difficult, so if you have been charged with the manufacture, transport, or sale of a controlled substance, it is important to speak with an experienced Norwalk drug charges lawyer who can help you formulate a defense.
Narcotics and Hallucinogenic Substances
Under Connecticut law, it is unlawful to manufacture, sell, distribute, transport, possess (with the intent to sell), or administer controlled substances that qualify as:
- Narcotic substances; or
- Hallucinogenic substances.
Hallucinogenic substances are defined as including psychodysleptic substances, other than cannabis, that have a disorganizing or confusing effect upon the user’s mental processes or behaviors. Ingesting these types of substances can lead the user to experience visions, sounds, or sensations that are not based in reality. Common examples include mushrooms, peyote, PCP, and d-lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD).
Those who are charged with violating this provision face up to 15 years imprisonment for a first offense, in addition to a $50,000 fine. Second offenses are punished even more severely, as defendants could end up spending 30 years in prison and being fined $100,000. Subsequent offenses are also punishable by 30 years in prison, although the fine could be increased to $250,000.
When the controlled substance involved was not a narcotic or hallucinogenic drug, the sentence will be reduced to seven years in prison and a $25,000 fine for a first offense, while subsequent violations are punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $100,000 fine.
State law also prohibits the manufacture, distribution, sale, or administration of one or more substances containing an aggregate weight of:
- One ounce or more of heroin or methadone; or
- A one-half ounce or more of cocaine.
The statute also contains a prohibition against the sale or distribution of any substance that contains five or more milligrams of LSD. Violations of this law are punishable by a minimum of five years in prison, unless:
- The defendant was under the age of 18 years old at the time of the offense; or
- The defendant’s mental capacity is significantly impaired.
Manufacturing or selling amphetamine-type substances or one or more kilograms of cannabis is also punishable by a minimum of five years in prison, although the sentence could be increased to 20 years.
Call Today to Discuss Your Case with an Experienced Norwalk Drug Charges Lawyer
Although Connecticut has amended some of its drug-related statutes to give defendants more access to diversionary and substance abuse treatment programs, drug offenses are still considered to be some of the most serious crimes in Connecticut. To ensure that you are represented by a competent Norwalk drug charges attorney who will aggressively represent your interests, please contact the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner. A member of our legal team will help you schedule a meeting with a dedicated Norwalk drug charges attorney.