Driver’s License Suspensions
Traffic violations - like driving under the influence (DUI), speeding, and reckless driving - have consequences, including the possibility of temporarily losing your driver’s license. Reasons that the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) might suspend your driver’s license include:
- Accumulating more than 10 points during a two-year period. For example, driving while impaired is worth three points, passing a stopped school bus is worth four points, and not obeying a stop sign is worth two points.
- Driving while drunk or refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test.
- Failing to appear in court after receiving a traffic summons for violating a traffic law.
- Committing vehicular manslaughter, homicide or another serious crime.
These are only some of the reasons you might lose your driving privileges. (There are also additional reasons for suspending a teen driver’s license.) Do not delay in reaching out to an experienced attorney after receiving a traffic citation. We can help fight to keep your driving privileges intact.
The DMV will mail a notice of suspension explaining why you lost your license and for how long, and how to get your license reinstated. You might be able to appeal the suspension. If so, that information will be included in the notice. You generally have seven days from the notice mailing date to request a hearing. Contact an attorney if you plan to appeal, especially if it is a more serious violation like a DUI.
What Happens If I Drive with a Suspended License?
Do not ever drive with a suspended license. This is a criminal offense that could land you in jail. First-time offenders will pay a fine between $150 to $200 and spend up to three months in jail.
However, you might be eligible for a special operator’s permit that allows you to commute to and from work or school. Eligibility depends on the circumstances of your suspension. For example, prior offenses involving alcohol automatically make you ineligible.
Regaining My Driving Privileges
Your suspension notice explains when you are eligible for license reinstatement and what documents you need to send to the DMV. Two weeks before your eligibility date, mail the required documents and the license reinstatement fee to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Services Division.
The reinstatement fee is $175. You cannot drive until you receive a restoration letter from the DMV and a valid license.
Reach Out to Us for Help Today
Contact the experienced Fairfield traffic ticket attorneys at the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner today for a free consultation if you are facing sanctions for driving under the influence or other traffic offense. We will help minimize the consequences and, if your driver’s license is suspended, we can help you regain your driving privileges.