DUI Arrest: Not the Treat You Want for Halloween
As October winds down and we enter the last weekend of the month, many people will be attending Halloween parties and other festivities. Many people will also be drinking alcohol at these events. Unfortunately, drunk driving is responsible for almost half of the car accident fatalities that occur Halloween night. There is also a high rate of pedestrian deaths that are alcohol-related, more than 25 percent.
These high statistics have led to more and more law enforcement patrolling roads, watching out for drunk drivers. There are also many DUI checkpoints that are set up in the effort to keep drivers under the influence of alcohol off the roads. If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you could be facing significant penalties depending on the circumstances of your arrest.
DUI in Connecticut
Under Connecticut law, if you are operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher, you will be arrested and charged with DUI. If you are under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 percent or higher will get you charged.
The state has some of the strictest penalties for conviction. Even a first offense will result in jail time. Penalties for conviction are:
First offense: A sentence of up to six months suspended with either two days mandatory in jail or up to six months suspended with 100 hours of community service. License will be suspended for 45 days and then an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) will be required for one year. And a fine of between $500 to $1,000.
Second offense: (Within 10 years of last conviction) A sentence of up to two years with 120 days mandatory in jail and 100 hours of community service. License will be suspended for 45 days and then an IID will be required for three years. For the first year, the person will only be allowed to drive back and forth to work, school, or alcohol abuse treatment programs. And a fine of between $1,000 to $4,000.
Third and subsequent offense: A mandatory minimum of one year in jail, up to three years. Probation with 100 hours of community service. License will be revoked but a person can apply for reinstatement after two years. The person will be required to drive with an IID for the rest of their life, unless the restriction is lifted by the commissioner after 15 years. And a fine of between $2,000 to $8,000.
Contact a Stamford Defense Attorney
As you can see, the penalties for DUI in the state are harsh. If you are going out to celebrate Halloween, the best idea is to leave your car keys at home. Take an Uber or taxi or have a designated driver for the night.
If you do find yourself facing drunk driving charges, do no delay in contacting a seasoned Fairfield County DUI defense attorney to defend you. Call Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner at 203-348-5846 to schedule a free consultation and find out how we can help defend you against these charges.