Blog

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Understanding Connecticut's Four Strike Rule for Traffic Violations

Posted on in Traffic Violations

Connecticut defense attorney, Connecticut traffic laws, Connecticut criminal lawyer,The consequences of a speeding ticket extend beyond the fines and possible court appearance. Another potential penalty is a driver’s license suspension.

According to the Connecticut Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, if you plead guilty to four unsafe moving violations within two years, then your license will be suspended. It is important to note, however, that receiving a fine and pleading guilty to a violation are not the same.

In Connecticut, drivers can “plead guilty” by mailing in the citation with a payment for the fine. The DMV can suspend your license if you do this four times. It is therefore important to consult a lawyer before sending in your ticket with a guilty plea.

What Constitutes an “Unsafe Moving Violation?”

When evaluating the four-strike rule, the Connecticut DMV will look closely at the charges to which you have pleaded guilty. There are several types of unsafe moving violations that may lead to a driver’s license suspension. Some of these include:

  •         Use of handheld mobile telephones and mobile electronic devices;
  •         Speeding;
  •         Illegal entry on a limited access highway;
  •         Disobeying the orders of an officer;
  •         Failure to maintain a safe following distance;
  •         Overtaking on the right;
  •         Passing a stopped school bus;
  •         Failure to obey a stop sign;
  •         Driving on a divided highway; and
  •         And taking a restricted turn.

There are more than 30 different offenses that could count as an unsafe moving violation. While these tickets will usually only cost you up to $100 in fines, paying four of these could result in your license being suspended.

What Are the Consequences of a License Suspension?

If the DMV suspends your license, then you will not be able to drive for the suspension period. You also may have to enroll in a defensive driving course or traffic school. As well, there will be a fee for reinstating your license.

If you have questions about traffic violations and related laws, call an experienced Stamford traffic violation attorney Daniel P. Weiner. For more than 40 years, Mr. Weiner has offered his services to clients in Bridgeport, Danbury, Darien, and Wilton. To schedule a free consultation, contact us at 203-348-5846 today.

Source:

http://www.dmv.org/ct-connecticut/traffic-ticket-fines-and-penalties.php