Ignition Interlock Devices Will Soon Be Required for First-Time DUI Offenders
Blog

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Ignition Interlock Devices Will Soon Be Required for First-Time DUI Offenders

Posted on in Driving Under the Influence

ignition interlock, DUI, Connecticut DUI defense lawyerBeginning on July 1, 2015, a stricter ignition interlock requirement will be implemented for drivers convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). Under the new law, the Department of Motor Vehicles is authorized to require ignition interlock devices to be installed in the vehicles of first-time DUI offenders.

An ignition interlock device is a small device that measures blood alcohol which is wired into the ignition of a vehicle. The driver must blow into the device before the vehicle may be started, and the vehicle will not start if the driver has a measurable blood alcohol level. Ignition interlock devices are shown to decrease the number of repeat DUI offenses by as much as 67 percent.

The new law impacts penalties imposed for a DUI conviction or for administrative violations of Connecticut’s drunk driving laws. In addition to requiring interlock ignition devices for DUI first offenders, the new law also:

  •      Reduces the period of mandatory license suspension to 45 days for administrative per se violations of the DUI law, but requires an ignition interlock device after that;
  •      Removes the 90-day waiting period before receiving a special operator’s permit in the case of a first administrative per se violation for refusal to submit to a blood alcohol content test;
  •      Changes the period of license suspension for someone who does not use the ignition interlock device as required to last until the DMV commissioner is satisfied that the person intends to install and use the device;
  •      Permits the use of ignition interlock devices in the case of a Connecticut resident who incurs an out-of-state DUI conviction within ten years of a prior conviction, either in Connecticut or another state; and
  •      Reduces the period of license suspension for drivers under the age of 21 who incur a second DUI conviction.

Connecticut’s DUI laws and penalties are complicated and frequently in flux. If you have been arrested for DUI, you should understand current law and all of your options before you proceed. An experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney can discuss your options with you and advise you on the best course of action. Contact the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner for a free consultation today.