OUI License Suspension: Drunk Driving and Your Driving Privileges
With or without any direct evidence of a person's BAC (blood alcohol concentration), Connecticut police have the right to prosecute when a driver is found to be impaired by drugs or alcohol while operating a vehicle. The state of Connecticut considers this a criminal offense and takes the prosecution of such offenses very seriously, beginning with the automatic suspension of one’s driver’s license.
The moment you are arrested for OUI, you are escorted to the police station and your vehicle must be towed at your expense. There are two ways you can lose your license following an OUI arrest in the state of Connecticut: by failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test or through court conviction.
What Happens to My Driving Privileges Under Connecticut Law?
Typically, the OUI arrest report is sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles, or DMV, where a suspension is imposed under Connecticut General Statute (§14-227b ) for either the refusal to submit to a chemical alcohol test or for the failure of such test. The arresting officer usually chooses which test they require you to take: blood, breath, or urine. The suspension usually begins around 30 days following the arrest date and lasts for at least 45 days.
All drivers arrested for OUI receive a summons and court date. If the court hearing results in a conviction, then the DMV imposes the following penalties:
- 45 day license suspension plus ignition interlock device (IID) installation requirement. A conviction requires the IID be installed for one year, while the second conviction requires it to be installed for two years. If facing a second conviction, you may only drive under certain conditions, such as to or from work, school, or an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, or to or from an IID service center or an appointment with a probation officer; and
- Third or subsequent convictions result in the permanent revocation of your driver’s license. You may only request a hearing for the consideration of restoration after two years from the date of revocation.
Connecticut law requires an IID prior to license restoration for any and all alcohol related suspensions. The law may require you to have the IID installed for a longer period of time if you are convicted in court for OUI for the same arrest.
When it comes to your driving privileges, operating under the influence is never worth the consequences. If you or someone you know is involved with an OUI arrest, it is important to speak with a skilled Fairfield County criminal law attorney who can explain your rights and ensure you have proper legal representation. Call the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner at 203-348-5846 for a free consultation today.