Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation


1100 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Most Important Things to Know About Multiple DUIs in Connecticut

 Posted on May 31,2023 in Driving Under the Influence

CT DUI lawyerSuppose you are a repeat DUI offender in Connecticut and are currently facing a second or third DUI charge within a ten-year timeframe. In that case, you need to be aware of the serious consequences that will result if you are once again convicted. Multiple DUIs can result in extremely harsh penalties, including weighty fines, a suspension of your driver’s license, and possible prison time. Therefore, understanding the legal process and your rights when charged with this type of offense is essential. By educating yourself on the subject, you can make informed decisions about proceeding with your case and protecting your future. And remember, as you look to fight these charges, hiring an experienced DUI lawyer will be critical to ensuring you can pursue a case outcome that is favorable to you.

What You Need to Know About Multiple DUIs

In Connecticut, the penalties for multiple DUIs are severe. If you are convicted of two or more DUIs within 10 years, you may face mandatory minimum penalties that increase with each subsequent conviction.

For a second DUI conviction within 10 years, you may face a minimum jail sentence of 120 days but not more than two years. You may also need to complete 100 hours of community service. A second conviction will also result in a license suspension of three years and fines ranging from $1,000 to $4,000.

Meanwhile, a third DUI conviction within 10 years is even more serious, levying a jail sentence of at least one year but as many as three years. You may also be required to perform 100 hours of community service and pay fines from $2,000 to $8,000. You may also lose your driver’s license permanently.

How Can I Live My Life Without a Driver’s License?

Once your license has been suspended for at least a year, you can apply for a DUI hardship license from the Connecticut DMV. If your application is accepted, an ignition interlock device must be installed into your vehicle, which you will need to pay for out of your pocket. The ignition interlock device requires the driver to blow into it like a breathalyzer before starting the car, or else the car will not start. If you blow into the device and it registers a blood alcohol level of over .025 percent, your car will not start.

Contact a Stamford, Connecticut DUI Lawyer

If you are facing a repeat DUI, your freedom is very much at stake. Contact the experienced Fairfield County DUI attorney at Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner for legal counsel. Call 203-348-5846 for a free consultation.


Source -


Share this post: