Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation


1100 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Never Take DUI Charges Lightly

 Posted on January 30, 2024 in Driving Under the Influence

CT defense lawyerMany people who face DUI charges are first-time offenders. Even if it is your first offense, a DUI charge can put your freedom at risk, with ramifications lasting long after you have been convicted

If you have been charged with a DUI, you need a Stamford DUI/DWI lawyer who can defend the charges brought against you.

Connecticut DUI Laws

Connecticut, like most states, makes it illegal to drive if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. This is considered an elevated blood alcohol level, causing impairment.

The law is stricter for underage drivers. Anyone under the age of 21 is prohibited from operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or higher.

Under Connecticut General Statutes (CGS § 14-227b), all motorists who drive in the state consent to a blood, breath, or urine chemical test. A police officer who pulls over an individual who appears to be under the influence can request a blood test without needing the driver’s consent.

Penalties for First-Time Offenders

Even first-time offenders may receive harsh penalties, such as:

Jail Time, Probation, and/or Community Service

A first DUI offense comes with a mandatory prison sentence of two days, with the potential for six months of incarceration.

Alternatively, the court may order a maximum of six months suspension with probation, coupled with 100 hours of community service. While the court will mandate the amount of community service to complete, it will be up to you to contact organizations and set up the service.

License Suspension

If you are over the legal limit or refuse to take a blood alcohol test, you will lose your license. Your driving privileges will be taken away for 45 days, beginning 30 days after you are arrested.

The initial license suspension is separate from any penalties that will be imposed if your case proceeds to trial. Having the counsel of a Fairfield County DUI/DWI lawyer can help to get you back behind the wheel as soon as possible.

Ignition Interlock Device

Do not be misled: after your 45-day suspension is over, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. Before installing the device, you must pay a fee of $175 to the Department of Motor Vehicles to have your license reinstated, along with an IID administration fee of $100.

You will be required to breathe into the device to test your alcohol level. If the device detects a BAC of 0.02% or higher, you will be unable to start your car. You will also be prompted to breathe into the device at random times while you are driving.

You will be required to keep the IID installed for one year. The results will be reported to the DMV and the court. Choosing not to install an IID violates the terms of your DUI and will come with dire consequences.

A Stamford, CT, DUI/DWI Lawyer Fighting for You

The penalties associated with a DUI can affect your legal right to drive and even land you in jail. If you are facing DUI charges, there is no time to waste. Speak with our Fairfield County, CT, DUI/DWI lawyer at your earliest convenience. Contact Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner today online or by calling 203-348-5846 to schedule your free consultation.

Share this post: