Penalties for Assault Convictions in Connecticut
If you have been charged with the crime of assault in Connecticut, the type of charge will determine the potential penalties you will face. Connecticut law delineates three distinct levels of assault, each of which carries separate penalties.
First degree assault is the most severe level you can be charged with. Assault in the first degree is a Class B felony in Connecticut, carrying penalties of up to 20 years in prison—with a mandatory prison of at least five years—and up to $15,000 in fines if convicted. First degree assault is defined as:
- Causing serious physical injury with a deadly weapon or other dangerous item, with the intent to cause serious injury.
- Causing serious permanent disfigurement or destroying or amputating a body part, with the intent to do so.
- Causing serious physical injury by recklessly engaging in conduct that demonstrates extreme indifference to human life.
- Causing serious physical injury with two or more other people, with intent to do so.
- Causing physical injury with a firearm, with intent to do so.
Second degree assault is a Class D felony, with a prison sentence of one to five years and up to $5,000 in fines. If a firearm is used or the person threatens to use a firearm, a sentence of at least one year in prison is required. Second degree assault is defined as:
- Causing serious physical injury with the intent to do so.
- Causing physical injury with a deadly weapon or dangerous item other than a firearm, with the intent to do so.
- Recklessly causing serious physical injury using a deadly weapon or dangerous item.
- Using a drug or other substance to cause unconsciousness, stupor, or other physical impairment.
Assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle is the charge when serious physical injury is caused by a motor vehicle operator while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The driver’s license will be suspended for a year and the driver must use an ignition interlock device for two years after getting his or her license reinstated by DMV.
Third degree assault is a Class A misdemeanor, carrying penalties of up to one year in prison and up to a $2,000 fine. Third degree assault is defined as:
- Causing physical injury with the intent to do so.
- Recklessly causing serious physical injury.
- Criminally negligent causing of physical injury with a deadly weapon or other dangerous item.
Assault charges are increased and carry additional penalties if the victim is elderly, blind, disabled, pregnant, or mentally retarded.
Facing assault charges can be a very serious matter. You need the assistance of an experienced Connecticut criminal defense attorney to provide you with an aggressive defense. Contact the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner today for a consultation on your case.