Repeat Drunk Driving Charges in Connecticut
If you have been charged with a second, third, or subsequent DUI or DWI in Connecticut, you face very harsh penalties with regard to your personal freedom, finances, reputation, and driving privileges. Alcohol, as you are likely aware if you have previously been convicted of DUI or DWI, is a common source of problems in both the state and nation at large. According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), over 25% of people ages 18 and over reported that they engaged in binge drinking the past month.
Over 15 million adults in the U.S. alone have alcohol use disorder, and every year an estimated 88,000 people die from alcohol-related causes. The economic cost of alcohol misuse is staggering – running at 249 billion annually in the U.S. When it comes to alcohol misuse and Connecticut’s roads and highways, the state has little tolerance for those who drink and drive – especially after already having a DUI or DWI conviction.
Penalties for a Repeat DUI Conviction in Connecticut
In Connecticut, driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol falls within the broader umbrella of operating under the influence (OUI). After your first DUI conviction in Connecticut, you may have experienced some relative leniency with regard to penalties. For example, you may have been allowed to maintain a clean record by successfully completing an Alcohol Education Program (AEP). Such leniency, however, is off the table for repeat offenders. For a second DUI offense falling within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction, you can expect a jail sentence of 120 days to two years, a fine between $1,000 - $4,000, a 45-day license suspension, probation, and three-year ignition interlock device (IID) requirement.
Additionally, second-time DUI in Connecticut is a felony – a blight on your criminal record that will have adverse employment and education-related consequences. A third-time DUI conviction within a 10-year period is a felony as well, and generally carries with it a prison term between one and three years, a fine between $2,000 - $8,000, probation, and permanent revocation of your license.
Protecting Your Legal Rights
If you have previously been convicted of a DUI offense, whether for alcohol or drugs, then you know negative consequences will follow from a second conviction. For your freedom, finances, reputation, and very ability to transport yourself to your workplace, home, and other essential locations, rely on an experienced Fairfield County criminal defense attorney to fight for your legal rights and hold the state’s prosecutor responsible for meeting its burden of proof and requirement to respect your rights under the Constitution.