Serious Consequences of a Rape Conviction | Connecticut
Blog

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Serious Consequences of a Rape Conviction in Connecticut

Posted on in Sex Crimes

Stamford, CT Sex Crimes LawyerThe state of Connecticut takes the crimes of rape and sexual assaults very seriously. The penalties for convictions are harsh, often resulting in jail time and the requirement to register with the state’s sex offender registry. The impact on an accused’s future can be dire. If you have been accused of sexual assault, you need an aggressive Stamford defense attorney aggressively fighting for you against these charges.

How Does Connecticut Define Rape?

Under Connecticut law, there are several acts that can result in a charge of sexual assault in the first degree. These acts include:

  • Forces an individual to engage in sexual interforce by using force or the threat of using force against that individual or against a third party. If the victim is under the age of 16, the charge is elevated to a class A felony which can result in sentencing enhancement.

  • Engages in sexual intercourse with a child under 13 years of age. The accused must be at least two years older than the alleged victim. This crime is charged as a class A felony subject to a sentencing enhancement.

  • Commits the acts defined under the law as sexual assault in the second degree but is aided by two or more individuals.

  • Engages in sexual intercourse with an individual who is mentally incapacitated and unable to consent to the act.

Penalties for Rape Convictions

In Connecticut, rape is charged as a class B felony, unless otherwise noted above. A conviction means the accused is facing severe sentencing. 

Here in Connecticut, a Class A felony conviction can lead to fines of up to $20,000 and from 25 to 60 years in prison, depending on the circumstances. 

A Class B felony is punishable with between one to 40 years in prison, however, in most rape cases, the jail time is a minimum of 10 years. The defendant also can receive a fine of up to $15,000.

A conviction also means the requirement of registering as a sex offender. Depending on the circumstances of the conviction and the defendant’s past criminal record, the minimum requirement is 10 years, however, there are many cases where the requirement to register as a sex offender is for life.

Contact a Fairfield County Defense Lawyer

If you have been accused of rape or sexual assault, do not delay in calling Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner at 203-348-5846 to speak with a seasoned Stamford, CT rape charge attorney. Call our office today to schedule a free consultation.

Source:

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70