Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation


1100 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Some Traffic Violations are Criminal Offenses

 Posted on February 22,2024 in Traffic Violations

CT defense lawyerTraffic violations are usually harmless, with the driver getting a traffic ticket. Traffic violations are usually civil offenses, resulting in fines, points against your license, and increased insurance rates.

However, some traffic violations may be charged as a crime. A criminal charge should never be taken lightly. For these violations, you could potentially be sentenced to time in prison. This is not to mention the court fees and time that will be spent trying your case.

Below, our Stamford criminal defense attorney discusses offenses that may be charged as crimes in Connecticut.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

In every state, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated. In Connecticut, a motorist is considered impaired if he or she is operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. This applies to anyone 21 years old or over.

The same does not hold true for minors. A person under the age of 21 is considered impaired if the individual has any trace of alcohol in their blood (0.02% or higher). This is in accordance with the state’s Zero Tolerance Law. While a blood chemistry test is most accurate, if your reading is based on a breathalyzer, a Fairfield County traffic violations attorney may question the test’s accuracy.

The Nutmeg State does not go lightly on even first-time offenders. A first-time DUI offender will be subjected to at least two days in prison, with the potential for six months. You will also have your license suspended for 45 days, and you will be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle.

Vehicular Manslaughter

Connecticut General Statutes §53a-56b states that a person is guilty of vehicular manslaughter if he or she causes another person’s death due to operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

A prosecutor must prove that your intoxication was a contributing factor to the crash. If you are found guilty of vehicular manslaughter, you could face up to 10 years in prison.

Fleeing the Scene of an Accident

CGS §14-224 requires that a person who is involved in a motor vehicle accident must stop and offer assistance. You must provide your full name, address, vehicle registration number, and driver’s license number to the other drivers. If you fail to stop and anyone is hurt or killed, or if there is property damage, you will most likely be up against criminal penalties.

Fleeing the scene of an accident is colloquially known as a “hit-and-run.” Depending on the circumstances, you could potentially be incarcerated for 20 years and up to $20,000 in fines.

Driving on a Suspended License

There are more than twenty statute violations in Connecticut that can result in a suspended license. If you are caught driving on a suspended license (or vehicle registration), you could be fined between $150 to $200, serve 90 days in prison, or both.

Evading the Police

While fleeing the scene of an accident is evading responsibility, evading the police is another matter. Under Connecticut law, if a person fails to comply with directions given by a police officer, the individual will likely be facing harsh penalties. While first-time offenders may be fined up to $500 and have a one-year license suspension, penalties increase to fines of up to $1,000, with the potential for an 18-month suspension.

Speak with our Stamford, CT, Criminal Defense Attorney Today

A traffic violation charged as a crime can carry dire consequences. If you have been charged with a criminal offense, you need to consult with our Fairfield County, CT, criminal defense attorney. Contact Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner online or call 203-348-5846 to schedule your free consultation.

Share this post: