DUI arrest
Blog

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in DUI arrest

No driver wants to see those blue flashing lights pop up in their rearview mirror. Traffic stops are always stressful. Being pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving is especially nerve-racking. At this time, you need to know how to protect your rights during the traffic stop and beyond. Notably, if you were arrested for a DUI in Stamford, CT, it is imperative that you reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. Your driving privileges, your freedom, and your reputation could all be on the line. You are entitled to strong legal representation.

Do Not Try to Talk Your Way Out of a DUI

At a traffic stop, you should always remain polite and you should cooperate with the reasonable requests of the responding law enforcement officers. That being said, defendants have a legal right to remain silent. You are not required to answer any invasive questions. If you are suspected of a DUI, you should use this right. One of the biggest mistakes you can make at a drunk driving stop is trying to talk your way out of an arrest. You are far more likely to talk your way into an arrest or to inadvertently provide statements that will be used in a future prosecution.

Know the Rules on Field Sobriety Testing

As explained by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the state has an implied consent law on the books. Drivers in Connecticut have pre-consented to chemical alcohol tests — such as blood tests and breath tests. The failure to submit to one types of chemical tests could result in a DUI refusal charge. However, drivers have not consented to perform other, less reliable field sobriety types of tests. You are not legally required to do the walk-and-turn, one-leg-stand, or to recite the alphabet backwards.

...

CT defense lawyerOn New Year’s Day, there is a contingent of individuals both in Connecticut and the nation at large who are dealing with a DUI charge instead of mulling over new year’s resolutions at brunch. It is a most unpleasant way to begin 2018, yet is a reality that must be addressed promptly and professionally. This is the case for any DUI charge, and especially for a second, third, or subsequent charge. Multiple DUI convictions are punished strictly in Connecticut, with thousands of dollars and fines and several years of prison time being all too real possibilities. If are beginning the new year with the headache of a New Year’s Eve DUI charge, rely on an experienced Fairfield County DUI attorney to protect your legal rights.

Connecticut Utilizes a Ten-Year Window with Regard to Repeat DUI Convictions

The measure for what constitutes a “repeat” DUI conviction in the state of Connecticut, is the ten years following your first DUI conviction. In other words, the ten-year clock begins running from the time of your first conviction. During this ten-year period, if you are convicted o DUI for a second, third, or subsequent time, you will face more serious consequences than if the new conviction occurred more than ten years after your first conviction. Specifically, for a second DUI conviction within ten years of the first, a fine between $1,000 and $4,000 will be imposed, as well as a jail sentence between 120 days and two years, a minimum of 100 hours of community service, and a three-year suspension of your driver’s license. In addition, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense for a two-year period after your license is reinstated. Penalties for a third DUI conviction are still more severe, and include a fine between $2,000 and $8,000, a jail sentence between one and three years, 100 hours of community service, and the permanent revocation of your driver’s license.

...

Connecticut DUI lawyer, Conncecticut drunk driving attorneyConnecticut is notorious for being one of the harshest states with their punishments of DUI. On holidays, the police do not take a break and lend a blind eye to questionable behavior. In many cases, it seems like circumstances point to the contrary. If they are in a bad mood for having to work while you are celebrating, there is an increased likelihood that they will spot potential driving errors. This year proved exceptionally difficult, leaving many excitedly anticipating a new start and a chance for a better year. If you are part of the population going out for New Year’s celebrations, take precautions to ensure you make it home safely instead of sitting behind bars.

Statistics

According to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, adults drive intoxicated an average of 80 times before their first DUI arrest. Additionally, the likelihood of being involved in a drunk driving accident increases on weekends after dark. During particular occasions throughout the year, such as holidays and summer, arrests skyrocket. In Connecticut, DUI is among one of the most common arrests made. Other statistics include:

...

lack of DUI evidence, Stamford CT criminal lawyerFacing DUI charges is an extremely frightening experience. Defendants may lose their license, pay steep fines, and even face prison sentences. In cases that involve a fatal car accident, the outcome can affect the rest of a person’s life.

In these instances, it is especially important to consult an experienced criminal attorney who understands how to use the law to a client’s favor. In many cases, charges can be reduced or even dropped. Although no lawyer can guarantee an outcome, professional legal guidance can help a person avoid costly mistakes that may reduce the likelihood of a positive case outcome.

When there is a lack of evidence in a case, or if law enforcement did not follow certain regulations, the prosecution may offer a plea deal. A recently settled case that took place in Stamford exemplifies this fact.

...

DUI, Connecticut DUI arrest, multiple DUI convictions, ignition interlock deviceCriminal penalties for a second or third DUI conviction in Connecticut are serious: they can include prison terms, fines, and license suspensions. A second DUI arrest carries specific requirements for driving with an ignition interlock device if you wish to retain your driving privileges. If you have been charged with a second or third DUI, contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible so that your rights are represented in court.

A second time offender is required to drive with an interlock device for three years. During the first year, the individual can only drive to school, work, an interlock service center, or an alcohol or drug abuse treatment facility. A second or subsequent offense requires the offender to submit to a drug or alcohol abuse assessment program and may be mandated by the court to attend a treatment program.

If arrested for a third or subsequent DUI arrest, the DMV will revoke your license. A convicted individual can have that license restored after two years, so long as certain conditions are met and the driver does not appear to be a danger to public safety.

...