Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation


1100 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Underage DUI Laws in CT

 Posted on December 07,2023 in Juvenile Crimes

Blog ImageA recent survey revealed that nearly one-third (30.2%) of high school students in Connecticut consume alcohol. Of those polled, nearly half (48.3%) admitted to drinking five or more alcoholic beverages in a row, also known as “binge drinking.”

Police officers invoke severe penalties if a minor is found driving under the influence since alcohol is a leading cause of death for our nation’s youth. While an adult must have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.08%, a minor only needs to have a BAC of 0.02% to be arrested for a DUI

Knowing how to defend DUI charges is not a simple task. If you have a child who has been arrested for a DUI, you need experienced representation that can only be found in a Stamford DUI defense lawyer.

Connecticut DUI Laws for Minors

Under Connecticut’s Zero Tolerance Policy, a minor has broken the law if he or she has any trace of alcohol in the blood. A minor is considered to be operating a vehicle “under the influence” if a chemical test has a BAC reading of just 0.02 g/dL

A minor who is driving any type of motor vehicle, including a passenger car, snowmobile, or all-terrain vehicle, and is determined to be intoxicated will be in violation of CGS §14-227g

All 50 states have an implied consent law requiring that motorists be subject to blood alcohol testing if an officer suspects that they are inebriated. If a minor refuses a blood test, then the individual will likely face a harsher punishment.

Penalties for Underage Drinking and Driving

If you are a first-time offender, the following penalties may apply:

  • Between two days and six months in prison OR up to six months suspended with probation requiring 100 hours of community service
  • Fines between $500 to $1,000
  • Mandatory license suspension for one year
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) to be installed in the vehicle for a period of one year

For a second offense, the following penalties may apply:

  • Between 120 days to two years in prison
  • Fines between $1,000 to $4,000
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service
  • License suspension for three years or until age 21 (whatever is longer)
  • IID installed in the vehicle for three years

For your third or subsequent offense, the following penalties may apply:

  • Between one to three years in prison
  • Fines between $2,000 to $8,000
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service
  • License may permanently be revoked

The court must report 16- and 17-year-old motorists convicted for DUIs to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner. License suspension will depend on any prior DUI offenses and a BAC reading at the time of the arrest

Depending on the situation, it may be possible to have DUI charges reduced or dropped. A Fairfield County DUI defense lawyer will know what evidence to present to give you the best possible outcome

Is Your Teen Facing DUI Charges? Contact a Stamford, CT, DUI Defense Lawyer Today

A DUI is a serious offense that can place a mark on an otherwise clean record. If your child or an underage family member has been charged with driving under the influence, you need to hire a Fairfield County, CT, DUI defense lawyer. Contact Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner today online or by calling 203-348-5846 to schedule your free consultation.

Share this post: