What Are the Penalties for Overweight Truck Violations in Connecticut?
Truck drivers are required to follow strict regulations related to the operation of commercial vehicles. Some of the most important of these regulations address the amount of cargo a commercial truck is allowed to carry. Weight limits are based on the number of axles on a truck and trailer, and truck drivers are required to have their trucks weighed regularly to ensure that they are in compliance with these limits. Drivers who are charged with overweight truck violations will need to understand the specific penalties they may face and how these penalties may affect their ability to continue driving a commercial vehicle.
Fines and Other Penalties for Overweight Violations
Most of the time, the amount that a driver will be fined will be based on how far their truck is over the weight limit. The fines are charged as follows:
Less than 5 percent overweight - $3 per 100 pounds over the weight limit, with no minimum fine
5-10 percent overweight - $5 per 100 pounds over the weight limit, with a minimum fine of $50
10-15 percent overweight - $6 per 100 pounds over the weight limit, with a minimum fine of $100
15-20 percent overweight - $7 per 100 pounds over the weight limit, with a minimum fine of $200
20-25 percent overweight - $10 per 100 pounds over the weight limit, with a minimum fine of $300
25-30 percent overweight - $12 per 100 pounds over the weight limit, with a minimum fine of $500
More than 30 percent overweight - $15 per 100 pounds over the weight limit, with a minimum fine of $1,000
If a vehicle receives three or more violations in which it was at least 15 percent overweight within a calendar year, the Connecticut Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may hold a hearing where the record of the vehicle’s registrant will be reviewed. The hearing may look at the commercial operations of the owner of the vehicle, the number of vehicles in the owner’s fleet, and whether a shipper is also culpable for overweight violations. Based on this hearing, a truck’s owner may be fined $2,000, or the registration of a vehicle may be revoked for 30 days. If a truck’s owner is assessed five or more overweight violations where a vehicle was at least 15 percent overweight, they may be fined $5,000 for the fifth violation and an additional $5,000 for any subsequent violations.
Contact Our Stamford Commercial Truck Violation Lawyer
Overweight violations or other traffic violations affecting truck drivers can have far-reaching effects that impact a person’s ability to continue operating commercial vehicles and working in their chosen profession. The Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner can provide legal help and representation in these matters, ensuring that a truck driver will be able to minimize their penalties and avoid further consequences. Contact our Fairfield County overweight truck violation attorney at 203-348-5846 to schedule a free consultation today.