Will I Go to Jail For a Car Accident That Caused Injury or Death?
The moments immediately following a major car accident are often a blur of adrenaline-induced panic. After realizing that a serious accident has occurred, a driver may check on the other individuals involved in the accident only to find that another person has been seriously injured or killed. If you cause an accident in which a vehicle occupant, cyclist, or pedestrian is hurt or killed, do you go to jail? In a situation like this, the first thing you should do is speak with a skilled attorney. You could be facing charges for assault with a motor vehicle or vehicular homicide.
Connecticut Laws Regarding Negligent Homicide with a Motor Vehicle
Car accidents happen for almost countless reasons. Sometimes, a driver is simply not paying close enough attention to the road. Other times, the driver is impaired by drugs or alcohol. The term negligence means carelessness or recklessness. If a driver acts with negligence, meaning he or she fails to act as a reasonably prudent person would act in a similar situation, and causes an accident in which someone dies, he or she may be charged with negligent homicide with a motor vehicle. This offense is also referred to as vehicular homicide. If you are convicted of negligent homicide with a motor vehicle in Connecticut, you face up to six months in jail.
Driving Under the Influence and Causing Severe Injury or Death
If a driver is intoxicated at the time of a fatal or injury-causing accident, the penalties are especially severe. In Connecticut, a driver may be charged with “assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle” if:
The driver causes serious bodily harm to another person as a result of the intoxication
Assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle is a Class D felony offense in Connecticut. If you are convicted of assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle, you may be sentenced to a maximum of five years in prison.
If a driver causes a fatal accident while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, he or she may be charged with manslaughter in the second degree. This is a Class C felony punishable by up to ten years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Contact a Fairfield County Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you or a loved one was involved in an accident resulting in death or serious injury, contact the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner. Stamford, Connecticut criminal defense attorney Daniel P. Weiner knows what you are up against. He has helped people defend themselves against criminal charges for over 40 years. To schedule a free, confidential consultation, call us at 203-348-5846 today.