Connecticut DUI
Blog

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Connecticut DUI

CT defense lawyerOn New Year’s Day, there is a contingent of individuals both in Connecticut and the nation at large who are dealing with a DUI charge instead of mulling over new year’s resolutions at brunch. It is a most unpleasant way to begin 2018, yet is a reality that must be addressed promptly and professionally. This is the case for any DUI charge, and especially for a second, third, or subsequent charge. Multiple DUI convictions are punished strictly in Connecticut, with thousands of dollars and fines and several years of prison time being all too real possibilities. If are beginning the new year with the headache of a New Year’s Eve DUI charge, rely on an experienced Fairfield County DUI attorney to protect your legal rights.

Connecticut Utilizes a Ten-Year Window with Regard to Repeat DUI Convictions

The measure for what constitutes a “repeat” DUI conviction in the state of Connecticut, is the ten years following your first DUI conviction. In other words, the ten-year clock begins running from the time of your first conviction. During this ten-year period, if you are convicted o DUI for a second, third, or subsequent time, you will face more serious consequences than if the new conviction occurred more than ten years after your first conviction. Specifically, for a second DUI conviction within ten years of the first, a fine between $1,000 and $4,000 will be imposed, as well as a jail sentence between 120 days and two years, a minimum of 100 hours of community service, and a three-year suspension of your driver’s license. In addition, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense for a two-year period after your license is reinstated. Penalties for a third DUI conviction are still more severe, and include a fine between $2,000 and $8,000, a jail sentence between one and three years, 100 hours of community service, and the permanent revocation of your driver’s license.

...

Connecticut defense lawyer, Connecticut DUI lawyerFor many families utilizing the school system whether it be at a college or a preschool level, each year is more prominently separated by the academic year and vacation times. While school is in session, there is a schedule to which to adhere, which demands most of the daylight hours during the shorter days. During the summer the days are much longer, and routine has a tendency of being pushed by the wayside. It is also interesting to note that crime levels rise during the months in which students are out of school. One crime that is no exception is driving under the influence (DUI).

The Spike Is Not a Myth

If you obtain your information from individuals on the street, you hear different answers for any topic asked. The same holds true for the spike in crime. According to the annual National Crime Victimization Survey, Criminal charges spike as much as 12 percent during the warmer summer months. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the most unsafe month in which to drive on the road is August when it comes to traffic-related fatalities. Consider these statistics:

...

DUI, Connecticut DUI arrest, multiple DUI convictions, ignition interlock deviceCriminal penalties for a second or third DUI conviction in Connecticut are serious: they can include prison terms, fines, and license suspensions. A second DUI arrest carries specific requirements for driving with an ignition interlock device if you wish to retain your driving privileges. If you have been charged with a second or third DUI, contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible so that your rights are represented in court.

A second time offender is required to drive with an interlock device for three years. During the first year, the individual can only drive to school, work, an interlock service center, or an alcohol or drug abuse treatment facility. A second or subsequent offense requires the offender to submit to a drug or alcohol abuse assessment program and may be mandated by the court to attend a treatment program.

If arrested for a third or subsequent DUI arrest, the DMV will revoke your license. A convicted individual can have that license restored after two years, so long as certain conditions are met and the driver does not appear to be a danger to public safety.

...

Stamford DUI, DUI lawyer, Connecticut DUI defense lawyer, DUI defense attorneyIf you are pulled over and accused of DUI in Connecticut, you should know the state’s implied consent law. The law mandates that you consent to a urine, blood, or breath test if you have been arrested for a DUI. If the officer arresting you has probable cause, then you give your consent to having this test done.

The officer chooses which test is to be done, but it must be given within two hours of when you were actually driving a vehicle. Without penalty, you can refuse the blood test if you wish, meaning that the officer can choose from one of the remaining test. The officer must also inform you of your constitutional rights when you are arrested and explain that your license may be suspended if you refuse to take a test.

If you refuse to take the test, that information can be used against you in court. An officer doesn’t have the responsibility to explain that you can contact your attorney prior to taking a test, which you might want to consider doing so that you are aware of all your rights at that time.

...