Blog

Se Habla Español

Call Today for a Free Consultation

203-348-5846

24 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

Underage Drinking and Driving

Posted on in Juvenile Crimes

CT defense lawyerAdults can be charged with driving under the influence when their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher. But underage drivers (any driver under 21 years old) can be charged when their BAC is .02 percent. Connecticut has zero tolerance for underage drinking and driving, which means that any alcohol in your system or on your breath is grounds for arrest. That does not leave underage drivers with any wiggle room. The moral of the story for underage drivers is, do not get behind the wheel after having any alcohol.

The Consequences of Underage Drinking and Driving

Driving under the influence is a criminal offense in Connecticut, whether you are an adult or underage. Underage first offenders are subject to the following consequences:

  • Up to six months in jail and/or 100 hours of community service;
  • Fine between $500 and $1,000; and
  • License suspension for 45 days and installation of an interlock ignition device for one year following license restoration.

These are the consequences for a second offense (if within 10 years of the first conviction):

  • Up to two years in jail;
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service and substance abuse assessment/treatment;
  • Fine between $1,000 and $4,000; and
  • License suspension for 45 days and installation of an interlock ignition device for three years following license restoration. The offender may only drive to work, school, treatment, device servicing or probation during the first year.

Subsequent offenses within 10 years of a prior conviction are penalized by:

  • Up to three years in jail;
  • Probation with 100 hours of community service and substance abuse assessment/treatment;
  • Fine between $2,000 and $8,000; and
  • Permanent license revocation. If the revocation is reversed, the offender cannot operate a motor vehicle without an interlock ignition device.

(Note that the rules are different if the offender is under 16 years old. Their delinquency is handled in Juvenile Matters Court.)

These are serious consequences. But criminal penalties are not the only thing underage drivers have to worry about. A DUI conviction can also affect your sports eligibility and ability to participate in other extracurricular activities. It can also affect your future ability to get a job.

Do not try to fight a DUI arrest or criminal charge on your own. Contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible.

Reach Out to Us for Help Today

Do not hesitate to reach out to the experienced Fairfield DUI defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner today for a free consultation if your teenager is charged with driving under the influence or another alcohol-related offense. We will help minimize the consequences and protect your child’s future. We are also here to help any underage driver who has been charged with a DUI offense.

 

Sources:

http://www.ct.gov/opm/lib/opm/cjppd/cjjjyd/settherulesct/images/ct_liquor_laws_2015.pdf

http://www.ct.gov/dot/cwp/view.asp?a=3531&q=259450