Will I Need to Use an Ignition Interlock Device After a DUI Arrest?
There are many ways that being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can affect your life. This offense is commonly referred to as DUI or DWI, but it is known as Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in Connecticut. While you may be concerned about some of the more serious consequences that you could face, such as large fines or potential jail time, you may also be subject to a suspension of your driver’s license, even if you are not convicted on criminal charges. If your license is suspended, you will also need to understand your requirements for using an ignition interlock device on your vehicle once your license is reinstated.
Connecticut IID Requirements
If you are arrested on suspicion of drunk or intoxicated driving, and a chemical test of your breath, blood, or urine shows that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over the legal limit, or if you refuse to take a chemical test, your driver’s license will be suspended for 45 days. A conviction for a first-time OUI or second OUI will also result in a 45-day license suspension, although you may be eligible to have your license restored immediately if you have already served a 45-day administrative license suspension.
After the license suspension period and once you have met any requirements for the reinstatement of your driver’s license, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. This device will require you to measure your BAC through a breath sample before starting your car, and the vehicle will not start if your BAC exceeds a certain level. You will be required to pay all costs related to the installation and maintenance of an IID, and every 25-30 days, you will be required to have the device calibrated by the installer.
The length of time that you will need to use an IID will depend on your age, whether you failed or refused to take a BAC test, and whether you were convicted of OUI. Drivers over the age of 21 who were tested with a BAC of .08% or higher must use an IID for six months for a first offense, one year for a second offense, or two years for a third offense. Drivers under the age of 21 who were tested with a BAC of .02% or higher or drivers of any age who refused to take a chemical test will be required to use an IID for one year for a first offense, two years for a second offense, or three years for a third offense. A person who is convicted of OUI for the first time will be required to use an IID for one year, and after a second conviction, a person will be required to use an IID for three years.
Contact Our Stamford, CT Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer
If you are arrested for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will need to understand your rights and the steps you can take to avoid a conviction and minimize your potential penalties. The Law Offices of Daniel P. Weiner can provide you with representation during your case, and we will help you understand how you will be able to get back on the road as soon as possible. Contact our Fairfield County DUI defense attorney at 203-348-5846 to schedule a free consultation today.